Homegoing ~ Gyasi

Homegoing
Yaa Gyasi

Available at libraries near me: Hartford Public Library print copies (e-audio and e-book available to HPL cardholders only), Library Connection consortium (multiple formats)

Further information and reviews at Goodreads.

Homegoing is another title I purchased for our electronic collection. It was popular with other organizations (it has won several awards), and also adds diversity to our holdings.

One Saturday morning, as I was getting ready to drive to the starting point of my bike ride, I decided to start listening to this novel. I chose to listen to it without first re-reading the publisher’s summary (I have since done so). Therefore, as I made my way through the first few chapters, I wasn’t sure what direction the story was going to take.

One page 13, well, I don’t really know where page 13 was. I probably could have picked the 13th minute, but that might not have been safe, given that I was driving (sure, I could have gone back later). Regardless, it was quite obvious at the beginning that this story was taking place in an African village. What became apparent later on was that the novel was taking place in the 18th century. Certainly I’ve read historical fiction about slavery in North America, but I don’t know that I’ve ever read about it from an African point of view. It will be interesting to see how it progresses, as the book is going to cover three hundred years.

Worth checking out: Yes.

Leave a Reply

